President Museveni Orders Overhaul of All NRM Parliamentary Committee Leadership


- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Kampala, Uganda – In a significant political shake-up, President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni has mandated the replacement of all parliamentary committee chairpersons affiliated with the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM).

The directive, decided during a Central Executive Committee (CEC) meeting chaired by President Museveni at State House Entebbe, precedes the Parliament’s decision to designate new committee chairpersons.

According to a CEC resolution, the Government Chief Whip has been tasked with presenting the new nominees for the various parliamentary committees. “CEC resolved to mandate the Government Chief Whip to present the approved Nominees for designation to the respective Parliamentary committees, defer the designation for the vacant leadership positions of the sessional committees for two weeks,” the resolution read.

This sweeping reorganization affects a broad range of committees, including key sectors such as Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries, Defence and Internal Affairs, East African Community Affairs, Education and Sports, Environment and Natural Resources, Finance, Planning and Economic Development, Foreign Affairs, and Gender, Labour and Social Development.

Other committees impacted include Health, Information, Communication Technology and National Guidance, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs, Presidential Affairs, Public Service and Local Government, Tourism, Trade and Industry, and Physical Infrastructure.

The decision is seen as a strategic move by President Museveni to consolidate control and ensure loyalty within the ranks of the NRM as the party navigates ongoing political and socio-economic challenges. The new appointments are expected to be announced within the next two weeks.

This leadership overhaul reflects the President’s continuous efforts to rejuvenate the party’s structure and enhance the effectiveness of parliamentary committees in addressing national issues. The re-designation aims to inject fresh perspectives and drive within the parliamentary operations, aligning with the NRM’s broader agenda of development and stability.

As the political landscape in Uganda evolves, these changes will likely have significant implications for the legislative process and governance in the country. The public and political analysts will be keenly observing the impact of these new appointments on the functionality and priorities of the parliamentary committees.

The new decision by NRM’s CEC follows corruption allegations at Parliament. Some members of parliament have already been remanded on corruption charges with a couple others expected to report to CID for questioning.

Last week, MPs Yusuf Mutembuli; Lwengo Woman MP, Cissy Namujju and Paul Akamba were sent on remand to Luzira prison for allegedly soliciting twenty percent share of the budget of Uganda Human Rights Commission (UHRC) in exchange for influencing its increase.

Also, CID summoned MPs Michael Mawanda and Ignatius Wamakuye Mudimi, over their alleged involvement in corruption and theft of funds meant for Cooperatives.

Do you have a story in your community or an opinion to share with us: Email us at
Or WhatsApp Us on +256750474440

- Advertisement -

Share post:


More like this

Police Investigate Kanungu Man’s Death Following Alleged Assault by Son

Police in Kanungu District are investigating the death of...

Animosity Grows in Wakiso as NEMA Marks More Houses for Demolition in Wetland Restoration Effort

There is growing animosity among residents of Wakiso Sub-county...

DPP Slaps More Charges Against Troubled Ex-RCC Anderson Burora

The Director of Public Prosecution-DPP has slapped additional charges...

Museveni Denounces Buganda Clan Chiefs’ Namibia Trip as Embarrassing

President Museveni has denounced Buganda clan chiefs who independently...